Intro Intro for JJ

JJ.the.VFOG

Mi Recruit
MI.Net Member
Good morning all.

JJ the VFOG
Very far away and long ago I was drafted into Uncle Sam's Army (March 1968),, during basic at Ft Jackson, SC, I was offered the opportunity to go to either the rotor-wing school or OCS or possible both,, I elected OCS, the job paid better.. The 1st weekend we had off,, watch a new John Wayne movie,, The Green Berets,, talk about sci-ops...

So, I'm off to Artillery OCS,, Ft Sill, Ok,, unfortunately after FDC,13E20, I was told that they didn't need more cannon fodder,, but they had an opening in the Infantry School,, back East to Ft Benning I go..

I graduated OCS in March 69, immediately followed by jump school,, with an assignment to Co C, 3 Bn, 6th Gp SF, Ft Brag. Summer of 69 I managed to attend the IMA Underwater Operations Course in Key West, currently called the Special Forces Combat Divers Course. We started with 76 and graduated 11.

By December I had orders for Nam, upon arrival I was assigned to the Co D, 2/7th, 1 Bg, 1st Air Cav Div. By May 5th, my platoon was one of the 1st to enter Cambodia,, on May 10th I lost a hand grenade tossing contest,, with an NVA fellow hiding in a bunker. I spent the next three months in the loving hands of Uncle Sam's Hospital system,, Mostly at Camp Zama, Japan. I returned to Nam in August, was assigned 1st Cav, XO of Div Hq Co Forward, completed my tour as a semi-REMF..

Upon separation in January 1971, I returned to my home in Florida, and soon afterward found a slot in Co C, 3rd Bn, 20th Gp SF ABN, FNG, Ft Lauderdale. I served there for the next 5+ years and qualified for my Flash. I had a bad jump and was told I had to switch to a leg transportation unit,, or resign my commission.. I left 20th Gp SF in January 1976.. A most unhappy person..