Intro Hello from Canada

CanuckGirl

Mi Private
MI.Net Member
My name's V and I live in Halifax on the east coast of Canada. I'm not in the military but my father served in the Canadian Army and I had a cousin who served with the PPCLI and was killed in Afghanistan in 2002. I have always been a strong supporter of the troops - all all allied nations and have tremendous respect and admiration for those who do. I found this site on a random Google search while looking for photos for a FB page that I admin. Cheers to all :)

Welcome V and thanks for joining us.
I am a retired British Soldier and spent 6 months in your fine country during my service (Alberta, Medicine Hat)
I would be very interested to hear of your fathers and your cousins service. I lost my Nephew in Afghanistan in 2010 he was a Royal Marine of Charlie Company 40 Commando. I have posted many items about him and other family members here on MI.Net.

Here is a photo of Paul (my nephew)

Here is some information about my uncle who was killed in the great war 1917

And finally here is some information about my fathers two brothers who served in WW2
http://www.militaryimages.net/threads/my-uncles-in-world-war-2.5451/

i am still trying to find more information about them both.

As I said we would love to know more about your families service

All the best and look forward to hearing from you again.

Found this link to Canadian Forces lost in Afghanistan - I see a lot of troops from the Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry lost
http://www.forces.gc.ca/en/honours-history-fallen-canadians/index.page

R.I.P brave lads & Lasses you will never be forgotten

Last edited:
Hi there V and welcome to the site.

I too spent part of my Army service (1956 to 1981) inn Suffield Park which is about 60 miles north of Medicine Hat.

My eldest daughter lives jus up the road from you in Amherst. She and her husband have been there for the last seven years.